Welcome!

Welcome to my new blog!

I thought it only appropriate that for my first post, I would blog about my adventures as a newly minted knitter. Now, when I say newly, I mean it. I am very much minty fresh. I learned how to knit on Sunday, May 24th. That’s right…only 4 days ago! I love it so much and it feels so natural that I can’t believe it has not even been a week yet.

My adventures started out on Sunday at my friend Harriet’s house. She graciously offered to teach me how to knit. It was a great experience for us both. She is a great teacher, and I am a good learner. 🙂 She showed me how to do a long-tail caston, and how to do the knit stitch. Our husbands talked what geeks talk about, while the two of us knit and gabbed ourselves. It was so much fun, and I was really enjoying the feel of the yarn moving through my hands, and seeing something start to form out of it. I left exhausted that night, but excited about my new skill. She kindly sent me home with some yarn to practice with, and we made plans for us to carpool together to her Tuesday night knitting group.

I practiced my little heart (and fingers) out on Monday and Tuesday. I knit, and knit, and knit some more. I even discovered that I had my very own personal knitting assistants. All 3 of our cats thought that knitting was just a blast too, and attempted to help me practice every chance they had!

My Knit Stitch Practice

My Knit Stitch Practice

My Boys "Helping"

My Boys "Helping"

Nom, Nom, Nom

Nom, Nom, Nom

Come Here My Pretty

Come Here My Pretty

Whatcha Doin?

Whatcha Doin?

I was a bit nervous about the knitting group, but more excited than anything else. It would mean the chance to spend more time with Harriet, and getting to see a friend I hadn’t seen in years. Add to that, meeting what I knew would be a great group of woman who were eager to help me become a great knitter — well, I just couldn’t wait. Before knitting we went out to dinner and it was delicious! I was a bit quiet but was enjoying the conversation, and just taking everything in. Then, we made our way to the cafe where the group would meet. It was so awesome to just sit around with other woman and watch them ply their craft. Some were knitting, some were spinning, and everyone was having fun! I learned to purl, how to fix a dropped stitch, and played with the stockinette stitch too. I LOVE how simple that looks and how soft the yarn feels in that stitch. I had so much fun, that I can’t wait to go back next week!!!!

My most recent adventure happened last night. I played around with doing five rows of knit stitch, followed by five rows of purl. I like the effect this had. At a certain point I decided to learn how to bind off. I taught myself how to do a ribbed bind off using The Knitting Answer Book. What a great book this is, special thanks to Tina for suggesting it!

5 Knit, 5 Purl = Pretty :)

5 Knit, 5 Purl = Pretty 🙂

Lovely Detail

Lovely Detail

My First Ribbed Bind Off

My First Ribbed Bind Off

 

Tonight will see me at one of the local yarn shops with Harriet, who is going to assign me my first project. We decided on a scarf. I am beyond excited to start working on something that will have an endpoint, and that is designed to be something. I will be sure to blog all about it once I get going!

There you have it. My first adventures as a new knitter. It can only get better from here! Thank you to everyone who has helped me get started, and to everyone at the knitting group for being so welcoming!

Stay tuned for more minty fresh adventures! 😀

Warmly yours,

Maeghan
3 Comments

  1. Tina M. said,

    May 29, 2009 at 6:17 am

    Yay! First comment!

    First off, it was *wonderful* to see you again after all that time. You look fabulous!

    I could tell you were kinda soaking it all up there, and I’m glad you had so much fun. 🙂 Knit Night, the group, and knitting in general, is seriously the best thing that’s ever happened to me aside from Steve. C’est si bon! !Que bueno!

    Secondly, you are one of the most natural knitters I have EVER seen. What a joy it is to see someone pick it up so quickly. And I’m thrilled that the book is helpful to you! I love its compact size, affordable price, and amount of information. It might not have *everything* like The Knitting Handbook, but it’s so portable that it’s a fair trade off.

    You are so much more than welcome into our world. Come to the dark side, my pretty, we have wool. And sushi. 😛

  2. Kate Rogers said,

    May 29, 2009 at 8:41 am

    I’m glad to see you have found a craft that brings you such joy!

  3. Harriet said,

    May 29, 2009 at 10:30 am

    As I said on Saturday, I have never seen someone as natural a knitter as you are. I’ve never seen anyone pick it up so fast, and I have taught a lot of people to knit. Check out the blogroll (on my blog) to find other great knitting blogs – including those belonging to the women at Tuesday’s knit night.


Leave a Reply

