I Made Yarn!

Over the weekend, Tina gave me a most beautiful drop spindle to borrow and learn with. I quickly order some lovely shetland roving to use on said drop spindle, from Contented Butterfly Farm. Well, the roving came in today – it is so nice! A pretty natural chocolate color. I took it out of the bag, looked at it, and tucked it back in thinking it might be better to wait until I go to knitting again and have someone help me. I didn’t quite know where to start.

I picked up my trusty laptop and decided to look for videos. I found some really good ones. It didn’t look terribly hard so I got my roving out again and gave it a go. It worked!!! I was making yarn. I am SO excited. 🙂

Without further ado….photos!!!

 

Roving from Contented Butterfly Farm

Roving from Contented Butterfly Farm

Sweet Touch -- This was attached to my receipt. :)

Sweet Touch -- This was attached to my receipt. 🙂

 

The lovely spindle with MY yarn on it!

The lovely spindle with MY yarn on it!

Pretty

Pretty

 

Look at that yarn. :)

Look at that yarn. 🙂

It may not be perfect but I feel like I am getting the feel for it quickly, and more importantly it came from MY hands! 🙂

4 Comments

  1. Harriet said,

    June 4, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    WoooHooo!!!! Don’t you feel like a goddess? This is so exciting!!!!

  2. Tim D said,

    June 4, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    This is one more step on the road to fiber addict status.

    Welcome dear sister.

  3. Tina M. said,

    June 4, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    My father in law really can do some nice wood working. 🙂 I’m so proud of you, look at you go! You were meant to work with fiber, I’m telling you this true.

  4. KristinaS said,

    June 5, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    I think you fell for fiber, and fell hard. 😉
    There’s nothing like jumping in with both feet!


Leave a Reply

