Oh, the pretty….

When I first started to look for a spindle, I knew what I wanted. I wanted a rich rose wood whorl with an ebony shaft. I looked high and low and contacted a few sellers on Etsy, but no one had what I was looking for or could create it. My first drop spindle was made from Italian resin instead. It is beautiful, and I love it, but I still kept looking for that one spindle.

I found a seller on Etsy, who had some beautiful things for spinning, including spindles. I took the plunge and contacted the seller, then waited with breath held to hear back. I didn’t have to wait long. They were willing to create just what I had been looking for all along. The seller is Brandywine Woodworking and I cannot say enough good about them! The communication was quick, responsive, and friendly. The spindle was made quickly but still with an amazing attention to detail. This little one is truly a work of art. However, it spins like a dream and just wants to spin forever and ever. This was my first custom made spindle and it really was a joy to work with them. I will not hesitate to go to them again when I want to add to my spindle collection. 

The package showed up today, and just the box it shipped in made me grab my camera. I knew it would be one of those worthy of unboxing photos. It took quite a bit of restraint to not rip into it, but I am glad I didn’t. I truly enjoyed just opening it and then seeing it for the first time. It is everything I had pictured in my head and more. 

Without further ado — photos!

 

The Box -- Loved the leaves stamped all over.

The Box -- Loved the leaves stamped all over.

Look at that packaging. Nice!!

Look at that packaging. Nice!!

WOW!

WOW! Cocobolo whorl, Ebony shaft.

WOW again! :)

WOW again! 🙂

Nice touches. This heart was what was tied to the bag. Also handmade by them.

Nice touches. This heart was what was tied to the bag. Also handmade by them.

4 Comments

  1. June 25, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    Very, very nice!

    How bad is it that I read cocobolo and thought it read chocobo? I need a new hobby!

  2. Tina M. said,

    June 25, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    Hoowee! That is one fine looking darling there. 🙂 Mine is a custom Bloodwood whorl with an ebony shaft, so yeah, I know from pretty. I’m so glad you got to have the spindle of your dreams! But how does it spin?

  3. catwhisper1 said,

    June 26, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    That is one beautiful spindle. It’s even prettier in person. And you’re spinning lovely yarn on it too.

  4. Saffron said,

    July 7, 2009 at 9:53 pm

    Oh the pretty is right! That’s beautiful spindle! 🙂


Leave a Reply

