That’s Life

Just when I think I have this all figured out…a new issue has surfaced. 

I was getting ready for bed and decided to put on some Bath and Body Works lotion. Ah, it smelled so wonderful and I love the way their scents pamper my skin. I was winding down and relaxing, and then…..boom. My skin started to itch. I started to get little red bumps all over. My skin started to turn red and burn/tingle a bit. What in the world?! Oh carp, I was reacting to my lotion.

I acted as quick as I could, still in disbelief. I took a Zyrtec, washed off the offending lotion very well, and now here I sit. Still a bit itchy and uncomfortable. I have been using their lotions for many, many years now, and I have NEVER reacted to them like this. While they are not gluten free, because they do have oats in them, I saw no problem in using it. I wasn’t going to EAT the lotion after all.

I am still not sure what I reacted to in it, but after that, it is quite clear that I can no longer use their lotions. Talk about sucking big time! I love their products and have quite the lovely selection to choose from, scents to suit every whim of mine. Ah well, nothing I can do about it, best get over it and move on. Guess I need to start being careful about what I put on my skin too.

I am going to go lay down, pout a bit, and hope the Zyrtec kicks in soon.

5 Comments

  1. Harriet said,

    August 18, 2009 at 2:40 am

    Major bummer. Now you get to find out if it is a) certain scents or b) their base lotion. Or c) something unrelated. Wait ’til it all calms down and try a little test spot on the inside of your wrist. As with everything else, wait 24 hours and see what happens. Wait 4 days between scents.

    Keep notes.

    Argh!!!

  2. Tina M. said,

    August 18, 2009 at 6:17 am

    Wow… I’m really sorry to hear that. 😦

  3. Cris said,

    August 18, 2009 at 7:36 am

    Oh no! That is terrible! I am so sorry to hear about your reaction. I just did a search on “gluten free lotions” and there are some awesome products that are gluten free. Granted they are not the ones you love so much, but maybe you will love the new ones even more?

  4. Maryann said,

    August 18, 2009 at 10:24 am

    Oh man, it seems like you are processing a lot of stuff at once! I will be thinking of you. Please call if you need support!

  5. Flame said,

    August 18, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    It’s a bummer if you can’t use *any* of their products, but follow Harriet’s testing advice and see if that’s true first. And if push comes to shove, remember that I blend essential oils. I have over 80 different oils, most of them 100% organic. We can create custom-blended lotions for you if needed. (That’s what I’ve been using for years now.)
    Hang in there! There is useful purpose even in this discouraging turn of events!


Leave a Reply

