My First Fiber Festival

Well, September was certainly a crazy month. There is much that goes into returning to school after a long, lazy summer off. Most of which has been lots of energy and time. It hasn’t left me much time to post here on the blog. I also haven’t made much progress on my knitting, though my spinning is getting there. Right now, it is easier for me to find time to spin.

Last Saturday saw me at my first ever fiber festival. It was a new festival too, and it was just great. It was the First Annual Southern Adirondack Fiber Festival. The day started out with Cris of Into the Whirled meeting me at my house. My place is about half way between hers and the festival, so it worked out well. It was also a good excuse to leave the boys at home and have a girls day out.

We got there and hit the ground running. We did a circuit around the grounds before stopping for a much needed lunch. We then went back and purchased things that we had waited to purchase until we had a chance to see what other vendors had to offer. It was a beautiful day, and we had a ton of fun. We shopped, we talked, we ran into other friends. I was good and stuck to my budget – I even left with money in my pocket. I came home with some awesome memories and some wonderful treasures. I really can’t wait to go back again next year!

Here are the fiber treasures:

The first two are both from Into the Whirled. This is what my day started with! 🙂 I had purchased them from Cris and got in person delivery.

Minotaur 56s Falkland Batt

Minotaur 56's Falkland Batt

56s Falkland Wool Top

56's Falkland Wool Top

 

My very first purchase of the day was from Mountain Fiber Folk Cooperative, and is a lovely, lovely blend of 60% wool, 30% alpaca, and 10% silk. The color is just stunning and it really does look like its namesake, the moonstone.

Moonstone

Moonstone - 3oz

 

Next up was a beautiful, natural caramel and fawn colored alpaca. This came from Quarry Ridge Alpacas.

Soft and Lovely Alpaca - 4oz

Soft and Lovely Alpaca - 4oz

 

Last, but certainly not least is my favorite purchase of the day. I fell in love with this yarn the second I laid eyes on it. I passed it by on the first round to see if I could find something else I liked. Nope – I ended up going back, and I do not regret it. It is so beautiful and soft. It is a mix of natural colors and is truly stunning in person. It is 100% alpaca and came from Times Remembered (no website).

Chocolate Twist - 8.2oz - 600 yards sport weight

Chocolate Twist - 8.2oz - 600 yards sport weight

2 Comments

  1. Harriet said,

    October 3, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    Times Remembered….I think they’re commonly known as “The Alpaca Dude” and, I think, is where I got the silk that Tina dyed that turned into my traveling vine shawl.

  2. Tina M. said,

    October 4, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    Cris’s fiber just makes me wanna squee, it’s that gorgeous.

    I wish I could have gone, I really wanted to! It sounds like it was a fantastic time, maybe we can arrange a group outing next year. Crap. Next year I want to vend there. Well, anyway, you can stop by and say hi then. 🙂


Leave a Reply

